NO MORE BONE CHAR TO MAKE A SUGAR WHITE

Your Sugar Might Be Made With Animal Bones. Sorry, Vegans.

The sugar does not actually contain bone char particles, but it does come into contact with them. “Refined sugar does not contain any bone particles and is therefore kosher certified. The bone char simply removes impurities from the sugar, but does not become a part of the sugar,” Caroline Pyevich reports in The Vegetarian Journal.

It gets even more confusing: While bone char is used to bleach and filter cane sugar, not all cane sugar is refined with bone char. Some companies rely on alternatives like granular carbon, which does not contain animal products, during the filtering process.

You wouldn’t be able to tell the difference by looking at the sugar or by tasting it, and loose sugar packets and packaged foods with non-descriptive ingredients can make it impossible for a person to distinguish sugar refined with bone-char from its counterpart…

Finish reading: Your Sugar Might Be Made With Animal Bones. Sorry, Vegans.


AFC Comment: No more bone char to make a sugar white. There is already a process in place not requiring it – called granular carbon.

No more egg whites to purify wine. There is already a process in place not requiring it – called the clay method.

Don’t say “sorry, vegans”. Fix what can be fixed – and this can be easily fixed.






 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s